Students presenting papers at this year's IASPM-Canada conference are invited to submit their work to be considered for our prize for Best Student Paper, the PETER NARVAEZ MEMORIAL STUDENT PAPER PRIZE 2019. A prize will be awarded for the best paper in French by a student, and also for the best paper in English by a student. Both prizes are $200. The winners will be recognized during the Annual General Meeting at the conference.

Papers should be submitted electronically to by May 15, 2018. Supporting materials such as PowerPoint slides may be included.


The CSTM’s Student Conference Paper Prizes are awarded annually for the best student paper in English and the best student paper in French presented at the Society’s annual meeting.The 2019 prize competition will be held at the CSTM Annual Meeting, Legacies and Prospects: Pasts and Futures in Music taking place in Montreal, QC from May 24th – 26th, 2019.

The submission deadline for this competition is Friday, May 31st, 2019.

The CSTM invites student members to submit an electronic version of their conference paper to the Chair of the CSTM Student Paper Prize, Dr. Anna Hoefnagels (, for consideration by the adjudication committee (see guidelines). The prize winner will be invited to submit their papers for consideration for publication in MUSICultures. The value of each award is $100.

Submission eligibility and guidelines:

Students interested in submitting their paper for consideration must (1) be registered, full-time students at the time of abstract submission (in the case of PhD students, they should not have already defended their dissertations), (2) be members of CSTM at the time of the annual meeting, and (3) have presented their paper at the 2019 CSTM annual meeting.

Papers must be submitted as email attachments in Word or PDF format. The student’s name, email address, and university affiliation should appear in the email body but not on the paper, as submissions will be reviewed blind. Papers should include only the paper’s title, text, and essential supporting materials (e.g., recordings, images, figures, PowerPoint presentations). Non-text elements should be referenced explicitly in the text and contribute fundamentally to the thesis of the paper. Papers should be submitted unmodified, with the exception of minor editing for spelling and grammar, as they were presented at the conference.

Conference papers will be judged based on criteria such as: originality, clarity and style, theoretical engagement, and strength of argument.

The CSTM’s Student Conference Paper Prizes are administered and partially funded by the CSTM. The Society gratefully acknowledges the generous donations that assist in making these prizes possible. If you are interested in contributing to this fund, the CSTM will gladly issue you a tax receipt. Send contributions to the CSTM mailing address at CSTM/SCTM c/o Jeffrey van den Scott, School of Music, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John’s NL Canada A1C 5S7.


The International Association for the Study of Popular Music-Canada Branch (IASPM-Canada) requests nominations for the IASPM-Canada Book Prize, which recognizes a member (or members) whose published monograph makes a substantial contribution to the field of popular music studies, has been written by a Canadian author, or published by a Canadian-based press, or that deals substantially with Canadian subject matter. Nominated books must have been published in 2017 or 2018.

Any member in good standing of IASPM-Canada may nominate a book; committee members may nominate books, association members may nominate their own books, and we encourage publishers to suggest books for consideration, but only IASPM-Canada members in good standing may submit nominations to the committee.

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2019. Nominations should include the author’s name, book title, and publisher’s information. Nominations should be sent electronically to Steven Baur ( The award committee will announce the winner at the 2019 IASPM-Canada meeting in Montreal (May 24-26).

Prizes and awards