Skip to main page content

Profiles of Perseverance and Success in Inuit Education - Shelley Tulloch, Melanie O’Gorman, Holly Carpenter, Kevin Eetoolook, Kathy Snow, Kirk Anderson, Doris Boase, Sylvia Moore, Erin Morozoff, Alexander McAuley, Caitlyn Baikie

10:45 AM, Thursday 3 Oct 2019 (1 hour 30 minutes)
Lunch (on your own)   12:15 PM to 01:45 PM (1 hour 30 minutes)
Sherbrooke Pavilion (SH) - Amphitheatre (SH-2800)
Across the Arctic, innovative teachers, principals, school boards, and community members have been moving forward toward the National Committee on Inuit Education’s goal of supporting Inuit youth to stay in school and achieve stronger educational outcomes. A team of researchers partnered with Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and local communities to identify areas where Inuit schools and communities are having the most success in supporting students. Assets-based case studies were conducted in communities across Inuit Nunangat’s four regions, including in Hopedale and Makkovik (Nunatsiavut), Kangiqsualujjuaq and Ivujivik (Nunavik), Pond Inlet and Taloyoak (Nunavut), and Aklavik and Tuktoyaktuk (Inuvialuit Settlement Region). Students, teachers, principals, parents, and other community members shared perspectives on what was working well in their schools. Promising practices included initiatives around language; the land; culture; parental engagement; multi-generational relationships and Elder involvement; teacher preparation and retention; student wellness; and opportunities for meaningful academic and extracurricular involvement. In this thematic session, presenters will share results from each case study. They will also profile concrete examples of promising programs in cross-cutting themes. Finally, the session will include discussion of policy implications of this investigation into Inuit students’ perseverance and success.

Session Organizer: Shelley Tulloch


  • Melanie O’Gorman, University of Winnipeg
  • Holly Carpenter, Mangilaluk School, Tuktoyaktuk
  • Kevin Eetoolook, Netsilik School, Taloyoak
  • Kathy Snow, University of Price Edward Island
  • Kirk Anderson, Memorial University
  • Doris Boase, Newfoundland and Labrador English School District
  • Sylvia Moore, Memorial University
  • Erin Morozoff, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Alexander McAuley, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Caitlyn Baikie, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami

University of Winnipeg
University of Winnipeg
Mangilaluk School
University of Prince Edward Island
Amos Comenius Memorial School
University of Prince Edward Island
University of Prince Edward Island
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
Session detail
Allows attendees to send short textual feedback to the organizer for a session. This is only sent to the organizer and not the speakers.
To respect data privacy rules, this option only displays profiles of attendees who have chosen to share their profile information publicly.

Changes here will affect all session detail pages