Disaster and resilience 2021

14 June 2021, 8:00 - 18 June 2021, 14:00 EDT

, ,

The Disaster & Resilience International Summit is a trilingual (French, English, Spanish) event to be hold online from June 14 to 18, 2021. It will be a meeting point for a variety of actors (managers and policymakers, stakeholders and humanitarians, experts and academics, artists and creators, and local and indigenous populations). While targeting the needs of individuals, families, businesses, and communities, participants will discuss resilience perspectives through an inclusive, multi-hazard and multi-disciplinary approach, and will consider before, during, and after disasters. 

In the current context of the pandemic as well as of the increasing numbers of disasters and their consequences, it is important to question the measures that promote the resilience of individuals, organizations, communities, and their systems. Considering the many facets of resilience, the summit targets the development of a multisectoral approach to understanding resilience, mobilizing all stakeholders to act in enhancing resilience. It also intends to foster learning of how an individual, an organization, or a community can be fulfilled in resilience. 

This event will enable all actors involved and concerned with disaster resilience to come together and collaborate in a variety of activities aimed at the interaction of participants. Beyond the presentation of the work and initiatives of the actors (academics, professionals, etc.), which are usually at the heart of knowledge transfer, this summit tends to discussion, exchange, and innovation. Given the major challenges we face, such as disaster risk reduction, climate change adaptation, and sustainable development, how can we co-build an inclusive resilience that protects us from future hazards? 


About
Disaster and resilience 2021

Event Starts: 14 June 2021, 8:00 EDT
Event Ends: 18 June 2021, 14:00 EDT

Event Location:
Online

,

Event Location:
ZOOM

,

Désastre et résilience 2021

14 juin 2021, 8:00 - 18 juin 2021, 14:00 EDT

Le sommet international Désastre et Résilience 2021 est un événement qui se déroulera virtuellement du 14 au 18 juin 2021. Il sera un point de rencontre d’une diversité d’acteurs (gestionnaires et décideurs, intervenants et humanitaires, experts et académiciens, artistes et créateurs, populations locales et autochtones). Ciblant les besoins des individus, des familles, des entreprises et des communautés, les participants discuteront des perspectives porteuses de résilience dans une approche inclusive, multi-aléas, multidisciplinaire et ce, en contexte d’avant, pendant et après les catastrophes. 

Dans le contexte actuel de pandémie mais aussi d’accroissement du nombre de catastrophes et de leurs conséquences, il importe de se questionner sur les mesures favorisant la résilience des individus, des organisations, des communautés et de leurs systèmes. Face à ces multiples facettes de la résilience, le sommet vise à permettre le développement d’une approche multisectorielle pour comprendre la résilience, mobiliser l’ensemble des parties prenantes afin d’agir dans le renforcement de la résilience. Il permettra aussi d’apprendre comment un individu, une organisation ou une communauté peut s’accomplir dans la résilience. 

Cet événement permettra à l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués et concernés par la résilience aux catastrophes de se réunir et de collaborer dans le cadre d'une varitété d’activités visant l'interaction des participants. Au-delà de la présentation des travaux et des initiatives des acteurs (académiciens, professionnels, etc.) qui sont généralement au cœur du transfert de connaissances, ce sommet tend à la discussion, à l’échange et à l’innovation. Face aux grands défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés tels que la réduction des risques de catastrophes, l’adaptation aux changements climatiques et le développement durable, comment co-construire une résilience inclusive qui nous protège des aléas de demain?


À propos
Désastre et résilience 2021

Début: 14 juin 2021, 8:00 EDT
Fin: 18 juin 2021, 14:00 EDT

Localisation:
En ligne

Localisation:
ZOOM