ISC 2021 SUMMER SCHOOL COGNITION & CLIMATE

24 May 2021, 8:30 AM - 4 June 2021, 5:15 PM EDT

Montréal, Québec, Canada

We are delighted to announce that the ISC 2021 Summer School - Cognitive Challenges of Climate Change will be held online from May 24 to June 4, 2021.  

Most important news:

 

Why should cognitive sciences get involved in climate science? Recent history has made the computer the primary tool in climate science, enabling researchers to produce increasingly complex models of general circulation which are better integrated into systemic approaches. These integrated models help identify the impacts of climate change, economic responses, and policy scenarios. But climate science seems to be caught up in a paradigm of computation, which the evolution of cognitive sciences towards interpretation and situated cognition allows us to question. Cognitive sciences are no longer defined as a science of information processing, but as humanities, social and behavioral science of cognition between humans and their social and physical environment.

The main objective of this ISC Summer School is to put the human at the heart of climate science. This is the challenge addressed by behavioral scientists who seek to contribute to climate models and create a social climate science to study our interactions, perceptions, reasoning and actions in this period of awareness, transition and implementation of mitigation and adaptation policies.

By reflecting on the cognitive challenges of climate change, the ISC 2021 Summer School aims to think beyond the disciplinary boundaries to expand knowledge on climate issues. A unique international and transdisciplinary virtual event bringing together more than 35 specialists to help understand how to mobilize globally, in particular through the carbon market, against emissions causing the greenhouse effect or to decarbonize our practices and our tools in a distributed and decentralized way.

Information


About
ISC 2021 SUMMER SCHOOL COGNITION & CLIMATE

Event Starts: 24 May 2021, 8:30 AM EDT
Event Ends: 4 June 2021, 5:15 PM EDT

Event Location:
Université du Québec à Montréal
320, rue Sainte Catherine Est
Montréal , Québec H2X1L7
Canada

ÉCOLE D'ÉTÉ ISC 2021 COGNITION ET CLIMAT

24 mai 2021, 8:30 AM - 4 juin 2021, 5:15 PM EDT

Montréal, Québec, Canada

Étudiant-es avec crédits - toutes les informations sur l'événement ont été envoyé à votre courriel "courrier.uqam" jeudi dernier.

Participants - toutes les informations sur l'événement ont été envoyé l'adresse courriel utilisée pour vous inscrire ici.  

Contacter isc at uqam.ca au besoin.

À demain !

 

Nous sommes fiers d’annoncer que l’École d'été ISC 2021 - Défis cognitifs du changement climatique se tiendra (en anglais) du 24 mai au 4 juin 2021 en formule virtuelle. 

Pourquoi les sciences cognitives devraient-elles se rapprocher de la science du climat?  L’histoire récente a fait de l’ordinateur l’outil principal de la science du climat, permettant aux chercheuses et chercheurs de produire des modèles de la circulation générale de plus en plus complexes et mieux intégrés à des approches systémiques. Ces modèles intégrés permettent de cerner les impacts du changement climatique, de prévoir des réponses économiques et proposer des politiques. Mais les sciences du climat semblent prises dans un paradigme de la computation – que l’évolution des sciences cognitives vers l’interprétation et la cognition située – permet de questionner. Les sciences cognitives ne se définissent plus comme science du traitement de l’information, mais comme sciences humaines, sociales et comportementales de la cognition entre l’humain et son environnement social et physique.

L’enjeu principal de cette École d’été ISC est de remettre l’humain au cœur de la science du climat. C’est le défi que relèvent des spécialistes en sciences du comportement qui veulent contribuer aux modèles du climat, et créer une science sociale du climat pour étudier nos interactions, perceptions, raisonnements et actions dans cette période de conscientisation, de transition et de mise en œuvre de politiques d’atténuation et d’adaptation.

En réfléchissant aux défis cognitifs du changement climatique, l’École d’été ISC 2021 vise à dépasser les frontières disciplinaires et faire avancer le savoir sur les enjeux climatiques. Un évènement virtuel international et transdisciplinaire unique réunissant plus de 35 spécialistes pour comprendre comment se mobiliser globalement contre les émissions provoquant l’effet de serre, soit globalement via le marché du carbone, soit en décarbonant nos pratiques et nos outils de façon distribuée et décentralisée.


À propos
ÉCOLE D'ÉTÉ ISC 2021 COGNITION ET CLIMAT

Début: 24 mai 2021, 8:30 AM EDT
Fin: 4 juin 2021, 5:15 PM EDT

Localisation:
Université du Québec à Montréal
320, rue Sainte Catherine Est
Montréal , Québec H2X1L7
Canada