Call for Proposals


We welcome geographers and other scholars with interests in the field of geography to submit their abstracts to info.acg.cag.2023@uqam.ca in the following manner.

We are inviting a discussion on the ways in which the integration of the Anthropocene within the scientific debates of geography would allow us to go beyond the usual dichotomies that are currently present in the discipline (human vs. physical, qualitative vs. quantitative) since the new Era is characterized by the irreversible merging of human history and natural history. This theme also provides an innovative analytical framework to address many contemporary problems rooted in the constantly changing human/nature relationships that cause the emergence of new territorial trajectories. Such examples show how the Anthropocene challenges the discipline and its thinkers to redefine its conceptual framework, its practices and its applications.

 

Instructions for Submissions

The Congress encourages proposals in French and English as well as exchanges between various milieus (academic, professional practice and citizens). Students are strongly encouraged to submit proposals (Individual presentation, panel discussion or other).

The call for proposals is extended until February 28, 2023. Applications will not be accepted after the deadline. Sessions can be offered in French or English. All submissions will be evaluated by the Program Committee and the announcement of the selected proposals will be made no later than March 27, 2023.

Participants are invited to submit their proposal in one of the following formats:

 

 

For your information, the themes of the Congress are available here.

 

Please share this Call for Proposals with your colleagues. Thank you for your interest in our conference. We look forward to your submission!

Appel à propositions


Nous invitons les géographes et ceux qui ont des intérêts dans le domaine de la géographie à soumettre leurs résumés à info.acg.cag.2023@uqam.ca selon les modalités ci-après.


Nous proposons, comme base de discussion, que l’intégration du concept d’Anthropocène aux grands débats de la géographie scientifique, permettrait d’aller au-delà des dichotomies habituelles en géographie (humaine vs physique, qualitative vs quantitative). Cette nouvelle Ère marque la fusion irréversible de l’histoire humaine et de l’histoire naturelle. Elle fournit également un cadre d’analyse novateur pour aborder de nombreux problèmescontemporains associés à l’émergence de nouvelles trajectoires territoriales, issues de rapports humanité/ nature en constante évolution. L’Anthropocène interpelle donc directement la géographie et les géographes, et amène la discipline à redéfinir ses bases conceptuelles, ses pratiques et ses applications.

 

Modalités de soumission

 

Le Congrès encourage les propositions en français et en anglais ainsi que les échanges entre diverses milieux (académique, de la pratique professionnelle et des citoyens). Les étudiants et étudiantes sont fortement encouragés à soumettre des propositions (communications libres, panels ou autre).

L'appel à proposition est prolongé jusqu'au 28 février 2023! Les propositions peuvent être soumises en français ou en anglais. La proposition doit indiquer la langue de communication. Toutes les soumissions seront évaluées par le comité de programme et l’annonce des propositions retenues se fera au plus tard le 27 mars 2023.

 

Les participants et participantes sont invités à soumettre leur proposition sous un des formats suivant:

 

 

Attention, les axes du congrès sont disponibles ici.

 

Calendrier

 

  • Ouverture de l’appel à proposition : 09 novembre 2022
  • Fermeture de l’appel à proposition : 08 janvier 2023  Prolongations jusqu'au 28 février.
  • Annonce des propositions retenues : 27 mars 2023

Dates du colloque: du 8 au 12 mai 2023

Nous contacter et soumettre vos proposition à: info.acg.cag.2023@uqam.ca