In addition to the six tours of Montreal and surrounding areas included in the conference program - the Lachine Canal on August 27 and Angus Shops on September 3, the Soulanges Canal on the afternoon of August 31, the Parthenais Corridor and McDonald's Tobacco on September 1, and the "early bird" tours on August 31 and September 1 - the TICCIH 2022 conference organizing team is offering four choices of fee-based tours outside of Montreal

For more information on the tours, please write to us

Buy your tickets with one click here

 

Three days in Quebec, August 25-27, 2022

Capelton - Thetford Mines - Old Quebec - Trois-Rivières - Shawinigan 

875$ per person, double occupancy, transportation, lodging, access to sites, two meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) included; 1075$ single occupancy

Buy your tickets with one click here

This itinerary will take you to the Cité de l'énergie in Shawinigan, an immersive museum complex built on the site of Canada's first aluminum smelter, and then to the former paper production site of Borealis in Trois-Rivières, where you will also have the opportunity to discover the Forges du Saint-Maurice National Historic Site. You will then discover the former asbestos mines in Thetford Mines and the copper mines in Capelton. A stop in Quebec City, where the World Heritage Site of Old Quebec awaits you, will also allow you to visit the Shipyard A.C. Davie National Historic Site, one of the most important shipyards in the history of Quebec, in the nearby city of Levis.

Day 1 

Montreal to Shawinigan (165 km): Cité de l'énergie; Shawinigan to Trois-Rivières (40 km): Forges du Saint-Maurice, Boréalis; Trois-Rivières to Thetford Mines (140 km), overnight in Thetford Mines.

Day 2

Thetford Mines: KB3 King Mine Historical Center; Thetford Mines to Capelton (115 km): Capelton Mine; Capelton to Quebec City (249 km), overnight in Quebec City.

Day 3

Old Quebec (on your own); Quebec to Levis (20 km): Chantier A.C. Davie; Levis to Montreal (250 km). 

 

Getaway to Montérégie, August 28, 2022

Saint-Constant - Beauharnois - Valleyfield - Coteau-du-Lac

150$ per person, transportation, lunch and access to sites included

Buy your tickets with one click here

A one-day itinerary on the opening day of the conference will allow visitors to discover Exporail in Saint-Constant, the Beauharnois hydroelectric plant and the Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site, as well as the MUSO, a museum dedicated to a former cotton factory and the surrounding working-class settlement. This tour will also provide an opportunity to discuss the history of the Soulanges Canal and its redevelopment project, although the latter will be visited in greater detail on this other tour, which is part of the conference schedule.

 

Four days in Ontario, September 3-6, 2022

Kingston - Ottawa - Toronto - Brantford - Hamilton - Niagara Falls

1050$ per person, double occupancy, transportation, accommodation, access to sites, two meals (breakfast and lunch) included (1350$ single occupancy)

Buy your tickets with one click here

Organized in collaboration with the Canadian Industrial Heritage Center in Brantford, this tour will travel to Ontario where visitors will discover the Rideau Canal World Heritage Site, the William Birch Rankine Hydroelectric Power Station in Niagara, the Hamilton Museum of Steam and Technology, and in Toronto, the Canada Malting Company elevators, the Don Valley Brickworks and the redeveloped Distillery District.

Day 1

Montreal to Kingston (287 km): Fort Henry, Penitentiary Museum; Kingston to Ottawa (196 km); sleep in Ottawa: see a portion of the Rideau Canal, visit museums (on your own).

Day 2

Ottawa to Toronto (450 km); overnight in Toronto: Canada Malting Silos, Distillery District, Don Valley Brockyard.

Day 3

Toronto to Brantford (104 km): Paris Old Town Hall, Mohawk Brownfield site, Brantford to Hamilton (41 km): Museum of Steam & Technology, HMCS Haida, adaptive reuse sites, Stelco Works; Hamilton to Niagara Falls (72 km): overnight in Niagara Falls: falls, William Rankine Generating Station, Welland Canal.

Day 4

Niagara Falls to Montreal (668 km).

 

Arvida and Val-Jalbert by yourself, September 5 and 6, 2022

Indicative cost of transportation and accommodation, according to your choice: $1000 for two people, two nights (double occupancy)

For more information on the tour, please write to us

Join the conference organizers at the National Historic Sites and former company towns of Arvida (September 5) and Val-Jalbert (September 6) for an intimate tour of these sites that have marked the development of industry and territory in Quebec and, in the case of Arvida, marked the history of the 20th century. Rent a car and manage your accommodation thanks to the preferential rates offered by your participation in the conference, including in an old Val-Jalbert home that has been redesigned for a modern tourist reception. Then explore Quebec at your leisure to discover other sites of your choice; on your way from Montreal to the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region, where Arvida and Val-Jalbert are located, you can discover the world heritage site of Old Quebec, Wendake, the Forges du Saint-Maurice, Boréalis, the Cité de l'énergie in Shawinigan, the Pulperie de Chicoutimi, the Odyssée des bâtisseurs and many others.

En marge des six visites de Montréal et des environs inscrites dans le programme du congrès – le Canal de Lachine le 27 août et les ateliers Angus le 3 septembre, le Canal de Soulanges l'après-midi du 31 août, le corridor Parthenais et la McDonald Tobacco le 1er septembre ainsi que les visites "early bird" des 31 août et 1er septembre, l’équipe d’organisation de ce congrès 2022 de TICCIH vous propose quatre choix d’excursions tarifées à l’extérieur de Montréal.

 

Pour plus d'informations sur les excursions, écrivez-nous

Achetez vos billets un un clic ici

 

Trois jours au Québec, 25 au 27 août 2022

Capelton – Thetford Mines – Vieux-Québec – Trois-Rivières – Shawinigan 

875$ par personne, en occupation double, transport, hébergement, accès aux sites, deux repas (déjeuner et lunch) inclus; 1075$ en occupation simple

Cet itinéraire vous conduira à la Cité de l’énergie de Shawinigan, complexe muséal immersif édifié sur le site de la première aluminerie du Canada, puis à l’ancien site de production papetière de Boréalis, à Trois-Rivières, où vous aurez aussi l’occasion de découvrir le Lieu historique national des Forges du Saint-Maurice. Vous découvrirez ensuite les anciennes mines d’amiante à Thetford Mines et celles de cuivre à Capelton. Un arrêt par Québec, où vous attend le site du patrimoine mondial du Vieux-Québec, vous permettra aussi de visiter, dans la ville voisine de Lévis, le Lieu historique national du Chantier A.C. Davie, un des plus importants chantiers maritimes de l’histoire Québec.

Jour 1 

Montréal à Shawinigan (165 km) : Cité de l’énergie ; Shawinigan à Trois-Rivières (40 km) : Forges du Saint-Maurice, Boréalis ; Trois-Rivières à Thetford Mines (140 km), coucher à Thetford Mines.

Jour 2

Thetford Mines : Centre historique de la mine King KB3 ; Thetford Mines à Capelton (115 km) : mine Capelton ; Capelton à Québec (249 km), coucher à Québec.

Jour 3

Vieux-Québec (par vous-même) ; Québec à Lévis (20 km) : Chantier A.C. Davie ; Lévis à Montréal (250 km). 

 

Escapade d’un jour en Montérégie, 28 août 2022

Saint-Constant – Beauharnois – Valleyfield – Coteau-du-Lac

150$ par personne, transport, lunch et accès aux sites inclus

Un itinéraire d'une journée, le jour de l'inauguration du congrès, permettra aux visiteurs de découvrir Exporail à Saint-Constant, la Centrale hydroélectrique de Beauharnois et le Lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac, ainsi que le MUSO, un musée dédié à une ancienne manufacture de coton et à l'établissement ouvrier qui l'entoure. Cette excursion permettra aussi d’évoquer l’histoire et le projet de requalification du Canal de Soulanges, qui sera toutefois visité plus en détail dans cette excursion-ci, inscrite à l’horaire du congrès.

 

Quatre jours en Ontario, 3 au 6 septembre 2022

Kingston – Ottawa – Toronto – Brantford – Hamilton – Niagara Falls

1050$ par personne, en occupation double, transport, hébergement, accès aux sites, deux repas (déjeuner et lunch) inclus

Organisée en collaboration avec le Canadian Industrial Heritage Center à Brantford, cette excursion se déplacera en Ontario, où les visiteurs découvriront le site du patrimoine mondial du Canal Rideau, la centrale hydroélectrique William Birch Rankine à Niagara, le Hamilton Museum of Steam and Technology et, à Toronto, les silos de la Canada Malting Company, les Don Valley Brickworks et le quartier industriel requalifié Distillery District.

Jour 1

Montréal à Kingston (287 km) : Fort Henry, Penitentiary Museum ; Kingston à Ottawa (196 km) ; coucher in Ottawa: observez une portion du Canal Rideau, visitez des musées (par vous-même).

Jour 2

Ottawa à Toronto (450 km) ; coucher à Toronto : Canada Malting Silos, Distillery District, Don Valley Brockyard.

Jour 3

Toronto à Brantford (104 km) : requalification Paris Old Town Hall, site Mohawk Brownfield ; Brantford à Hamilton (41 km) : Museum of Steam & Technology, HMCS Haida, sites de requalification, Stelco Works ; Hamilton à Niagara Falls (72 km) : coucher à Niagara Falls: chutes, William Rankine Generating Station, Welland Canal.

Jour 4

Niagara Falls à Montréal (668 km).

 

Arvida et Val-Jalbert par vous-même, 5 et 6 septembre 2022

Coût indicatif du transport et de l’hébergement, selon vos choix : 1000$ pour deux personnes, deux nuitées (occupation double)

Rejoignez les organisateurs du congrès dans les Lieux historiques nationaux et anciennes villes de compagnie d’Arvida (5 septembre) et de Val-Jalbert (6 septembre), pour une visite intimiste de ces sites qui ont jalonné le développement de l’industrie et du territoire au Québec et, dans le cas d’Arvida, marqué l’histoire du XXe siècle. Louez une voiture et gérez votre hébergement grâce aux tarifs préférentiels que votre participation au congrès vous offre, y compris dans une ancienne habitation de Val-Jalbert requalifiée pour un accueil touristique moderne. Puis arpentez le Québec à votre guise pour découvrir d’autres sites de votre choix; sur votre chemin entre Montréal et la région du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, où se trouvent Arvida et Val-Jalbert, vous pourrez découvrir le site du patrimoine mondial du Vieux-Québec, Wendake, les Forges du Saint-Maurice, Boréalis, la Cité de l’énergie de Shawinigan, la Pulperie de Chicoutimi, l’Odyssée des bâtisseurs et bien d’autres.

Excursions et activités pré- et post-congrès